Quick reflections and a departure

On August 21st I ended my career at Bell Canada. Having sensed that the new owners of the company would be looking to make drastic cost reductions, I figured that it would be a good time to ask for a severance package and use the opportunity to start my own company. It took awhile for everything to fall into place (about 9 months) but it was worth it.

It has been an incredibly busy week since leaving Bell. Lots of administration stuff in getting a business launched and I’ve been fortunate enough to have lots of interest in my services so I’ve had a few meetings regarding potential work. As a result I’ve barely had time to process all of this new information and my new status in this world. And now I’m heading out for a previously planned vacation for two weeks. But I wanted to get something down on “paper” before I go.

It’s easy to slag large corporations for being soul sucking institutions that crush human spirit, especially Bell Canada, but the six years I spent at Bell Canada was a life changing experience that put me on a path to discover the work that I love to do. We had the permission to learn a method of collaborative work and build a centre around that methodology. Most companies wouldn’t invest in their space and employees like that. Most importantly, I met people who have since become some of my best friends, mentors and sources of inspiration.

The relationship was mutually beneficial, I would argue. We did some great work for the company and I’d like to think we’ll be missed, at least a little bit.  😉

So now it’s off to Croatia for two weeks of R&R before returning to the real world and getting this business off the ground. More to come about a new company name, website and blog.

2 responses to “Quick reflections and a departure

  1. Can’t wait to hear more…

  2. Woohoo! Welcome to the world of free agency and independence. We welcome you with big open arms.

Leave a Reply

